Monday 27 January 2020
Home      All news      Contact us      Urdu
The News - 2 month ago

CEC, ECP members? appointment: MPs body meeting rescheduled for today

ISLAMABAD: The meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) once again postponed on Tuesday and rescheduled to meet again on today (Friday).It was third time that the meeting was postponed and rescheduled as the government and opposition failed to break the deadlock on the CEC name and ECP members.The parliamentary committee first scheduled for December 9 and rescheduled for Dec 11 but postponed for December 12 and once again rescheduled for December 13.According to sources, a deadlock between the government and opposition still persisted on the name of CEC as the government insisted on the name of Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan Babar Yaqoob Fateh Muhammd while the PML-N has rejected his name saying that he was responsible for the rigging in the election and failure of the RTS system.Though the government sped up the efforts to create a consensus on its nominee and made the contacts to break the deadlock, the opposition wanted that CEC be chosen from the other five nominees in the list. Talking with the newsmen, Defence Minister Pervaiz Khattak said that the talks were going on and they only postponed the meeting till Friday. We are hopeful for the positive outcome, he said.Asked whether any give and take was being under consideration, the defence minister said there was no give and take on this issue as only the best will be chosen.It is to be mentioned here that the government has forwarded the names of Secretary Election Commission of Pakistan Babar Yaqoob Fateh Muhammad along with two retired bureaucrats Fazal Abass Mekan and Muhammad Arif while the opposition has proposed the names of the Nasir Khosa, Ikhlaq Tarar and Jalil Abass Jilan for the post of Chief election Commissioner. Prime Minister Imran Khan has proposed the names of Justice (R) Sadiq Bhatti, Justice (R) Noorul Haq Qureshi and Abdul Jabbar Qureshi from Sindh for the post of ECP member and from Balochistan he proposed the names of Dr Faiz Muhammad Kakar, Mir Naveed Baloch and Amanullah Baloch.

Latest News










Most Popular (6 hours)

Most Popular (24 hours)

Most Popular (a week)